Ten top Scottish crime series

Author Ian Rankin
Author Ian Rankin
Share this article

This week’s top 10 takes a look at popular Scottish crime, some of which is known as Tartan Noir – a form of crime fiction particular to Scotland and Scottish writers which has its roots in Scottish literature but borrows elements from elsewhere.

American crime writer James Ellroy coined the name when he described Ian Rankin as “the king of tartan noir” for a book cover.

Tartan noir draws on the traditions of Scottish literature, being strongly influenced by James Hogg’s Confessions of a Justified Sinner and Robert Louis Stevenson’s Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde.

Rebus – Ian Rankin

Since the release of Knots and Crosses in 1987, Rebus has been amongst the most popular crime series.

Bob Skinner – Quentin Jardine

When Quentin Jardine read an unsatisfactory novel in 1989 it led to him creating Bob Skinner. Book 25 in the series, Last Resort. is out in April.

Hamish Macbeth – M.C. Beaton

This series was conceived while on a fishing holiday in Scotland and features a Highland village policeman. Death Of A Liar is the latest book.

Shetland – Ann Cleeves

Detective Jimmy Perez investigates crimes across the Shetland Isles with the latest book,Thin Air, set in Unst.

Logan McRae – Stuart MacBride

The Missing And The Dead is the newest novel in this Aberdeen-set series.

Jack Parlabane – Christoher Brookmyre

Jack Parlabane is an investigative journalist based in Edinburgh who gets himself into some sticky situations.

Inspector McLean – James Oswald

Prayer For the Dead is the fifth and latest release in this popular series which originally started as a series of ebooks.

The Glasgow Trilogy – Malcolm McKay

Set in Glasgow’s underworld, this crime trilogy has had several award nominations and the first two books in the series also won awards.

The Lewis Trilogy – Peter May

First published in France, the Outer Hebrides are the inspiration behind this awardwinning trilogy.

Detective Lorimer – Alex Gray

Set in Glasgow, the next book in the series, Keep The Midnight Out, is published in March.

*All these books are available at your local Lancashire library, or visit http://bit.ly/allourbooks or http://capitadiscovery.co.uk/lancashire/ to reserve a copy .