Table Tennis: Cup success for Morecambe A and Trimpell Raptors

The Lancaster and Morecambe table tennis season came to a close last week, with Trimpell Raptors and Morecambe A claiming cup successes.

Thursday, 19th April 2018, 1:00 pm
The Trimpell Raptors won the Premier Division title.

Ken Richardson’s young Morecambe A side gave the seasoned Trimpell Dragons side a 50 point head start in the Riley Cup competition.

The match was evenly matched to begin with, with Dragons still 41 points ahead after four games.

Adam Dennison then made short work of Geeza Bilton, clawing back 20 points before Joseph Dennison had a great result, gaining another 10 points against Dragon number one player Derek Metcalfe.

Paul Stebbing - Captain of Trimpell Raptors.

With three games to go Trimpell were ahead by nine points but quick wins in succession for Bethany Ellis against Bilton, followed by Joseph Dennison against Graham White meant Dragons had to keep Adam Dennison in single figures to avoid defeat.

The match ended with Morecambe A winning 368 points to Dragon on 340 points.

In the Coronation Cup, Garstang Annihilators had a 35 point advantage over Trimpell Raptors.

Raptors wasted no time in recovering the points advantage from Annihilators with wins from Toby Ellis over Matthew Westworth and Paul Stebbing over Mike Armishaw and by the time Dave Gott had won his first game over Tom Clark Raptors were ahead by 19 points.

Morecambe A Riley Cup winning team.

The game went as expected from this point, albeit a notable with for Matt Westworth over Dave Gott, giving Annihilators the faintest of chances.

The match ended with Raptors winning 321 points to Anihilators’ 274 points with a game in hand.

The match officials were Graeme Moorby and international referee Robert Williamson.

At the end of a well-attended evening the prizes for the Coronation and Riley cups were presented by President David Hughes who also presented the Premier League Title Trophy to Raptors Captain Paul Stebbing.

Paul Stebbing - Captain of Trimpell Raptors.
Morecambe A Riley Cup winning team.