Vale celebrate season at end of year awards

Paul McLaren-Dorrington was named of the first team Player of the Year.
Paul McLaren-Dorrington was named of the first team Player of the Year.
Share this article

A theme that was echoed by coaches, team managers and captains throughout the Vale of Lune’s annual players awards evening was the spirit of unity that was now flowing through the club at all levels which had increased as the season unfolded.

All sections had noticed an increase in numbers as word of the clubs new ethos spread throughout the locality, former players returned but more importantly younger, talented players were given the opportunity to shine, with quite a number becoming contenders for a spot in the first team.

Overall it had been, in the words of Phil Stott, Director of Rugby, a “fantastic season” with the Vikings and B team, thirds and fourths respectively, gaining promotion, the A team reaching the finals of the BEST Cup and the Colts just missing out of being crowned champions of Raging Bull’s Conference A and beaten semi finalists in the Lancashire Cup.

Of course the Vale still requires a battalion of volunteers working diligently for may hours behind the scenes and these individuals were duly recognised for all their hard work.

Awards: 2014/15 season


Phil Davies Award: Jack Aryton.

Coaches Player: Alex Preston and Aiden Yates.

Most Improved: Matty Barton.

Colts Representatives;

Under 17’s: Will Hunt and Mike Forrest.

Under 16’s/17’s: Sam Stott.


England Under 20’s Player: Sally Stott.

North of England and County Under 18’s: Niamh Kerr.

B Team

Player Of The Season: Stuart Hatton.

Players Player: Craig Smith.


Player Of The Season: Andy Irvine.

Players Player: Simon Wilson.

A Team

Player Of The Season: Tom Cvijanovic.

Players Player: Dan Rainford.

1st Team

Player Of The Season: Paul McLaren-Dorrington.

Players Player: Sam Wallbank.

Young Player: Billy Swarbrick.

Team Of The Season: Intermediate Colts.

Club Person Of The Season: Sarah Baines.