Junior Colts named Vale’s top team at award’s night

Vale of Lune's Under 17s were named Team of the Year at the annual presentation evening.
Vale of Lune's Under 17s were named Team of the Year at the annual presentation evening.
Share this article

Although there were a number of notable absentees the Vale of Lune’s annual award’s evening was well attended with representatives from all sections of the club flocking into the clubhouse.

Following their historic victory in winning the Rob Brier’s Lancashire Cup the Junior Colts were named team of the season and to loud applause, in front of many proud parents, skipper Matthew Humpage stepped up to collect the trophy from President of the Vale Norman Hailes.

Humpage also collected the Nick Waite Trophy, while the Coaches Player of the Year went to Ted Mossop.

The Phil Davies Award was presented to Jack Aryton while Most Improved player went to Will Hunt.

Coach Phil Stott, who fulfils many roles in the development of players at the Vale, said that some of the players from the Ladies section, in the under 15 and 18 age groups, had made a dramatic impact at both county and regional levels, including Niamh Kerr, Sally Stott, Alisha Kasam-Sharples, Amy Stanley, Lydia Cowell and Pippa 

Lydia Cowell won the Most Improved Player award and Sally Stott was named Player of the Season.

At the end of a demanding season the 18 group were winners of the prestigious Worcester 12’s, the shop window and national benchmark for this age group.

The contributions of former club and first team coach, Paul Woodward and his assistant, Colin Bailey, were acknowledged by Phil Stott who said he held them in the highest esteem.

Aaron Melville, deputising for team manger Tony Gilmour, said the A team had retained their status in the highly acclaimed Bateman BMW Premier League.

Massive changes in personnel throughout the season had made it difficult to field a settled side, but Olly Cowey, Bob Mudd, Jamie Antcliffe, Aaron Melville, Alex Morrison, Dan Rainford, Phil Jackson, Kieron Doyle, Alex Cowey and Joe Clarkson had all risen to the challenge.

Tony Jackson, team manager of the Vikings, said although the team had been relegated they fully intended to bounce back.

He thanked all the players who worked so hard in difficult circumstances to fulfil fixtures, in particular those who stepped up from the Senior Colts.

According to skipper Paul Scott it had been a most positive season for the B team culminating in a fourth place in the league.

Throughout the evening fulsome praise was reserved for those who worked hard behind the scenes, Gerald and the ground staff, physios, Collette and Jemma, Cliff the kit man, club house manager Derrick and his staff, but the award for Club Person of the Season was presented to Stuart Hesketh for many hours of unstinting effort on a daily basis, in particular during the season.