Morecambe bow out of T20 cup

Morecambe welcomed Garstang Fulwood and Broughton to Woodhill Lane on Sunday for the final round of games in the T20 Cup North 2 group, but despite being the home side they bowed out of this season's competition.

Tuesday, 19th June 2018, 10:24 am
Updated Tuesday, 19th June 2018, 3:39 pm
Pro Luke Jongwe hit 59. Picture: Tony North.

First up for Morecambe were Garstang, professional Luke Jongwe top scored with a run-a-ball 59 as the home side made 135-6 batting first.

Alex Briggs managed a knock of 30 before being caught by Coen Oosthuysen off Travis Pieters (1-27), while Luke Pearson (15) and Daniel Edwards (16no) also reached double figures for the home team.

In reply, the visitors came up seven runs short despite a quick-fire 40 from Michael Wellings and a knock of 34 from Oosthuysen.

Daniel Edwards (2-25), Jamie Cassidy (1-13), Tommy Clough (1-35) Luke Jongwe (1-18) and Louis Backhouse (1-13) took the wickets.

Fulwood and Broughton went through to the last four though on run rate after beating Morecambe in the second game of the day.

Simon Kerrigan led the way with 49 as the eventual group winners made 142-8 after electing to bat.

However, Fulwood did not get off the best of starts, Richard Turner was bowled by Cassidy (1-35) without even scoring, although Rana Pratap Singh Thakur Shiv (23) did help steady things before being caught by Edwards off Jongwe (3-20).

Lewis Smith (2-28) took the wickets of Matthew Smith (19) and Charlie Rossiter (2) and Clough got rid of Fulwood captain Mark Smith (23) with the help of Ryan Pearson.

Jongwe bowled Callum Robinson-Brooks (4) and Clough bowled Jon Fenton (5), but Dominic Jackson (1no) and Matthew Hurst (4no) helped Fulwood to finish on 142-8 .

This total proved too much for Morecambe as the Woodhill Lane side fell short, losing by 20 runs with Richard Turner taking 3-31 including the wicket of Jongwe who again impresed with 46.

Only Alex Briggs (17), Lewis Smith(11) and Reuben Orr (11no) managed double figures for Morecambe, while there were wickets for Matthew Smith (1-20), Jon Fenton (1-29), Dominic Jackson (1-16) and Matthew Hurst (1-15).