Westmorland Cricket League: Shireshead march on with fourth straight big win

Shirehead captain Paul Yates. Picture: Tony North
Shirehead captain Paul Yates. Picture: Tony North
Share this article

Shireshead & Forton cemented their place at the top of the Westmorland Cricket League Division One with a fourth consecutive 15-point win at Bolton-le-Sands on Saturday.

Batting first, visiting openers Paul Yates (29) and Liam Parkinson (25) added 60 for the first wicket in good time.

Peter Wilson (57) and Phil Oliver (45) built on this as they added 77 in seven overs, striking eleven fours and four sixes in the process.

Nick Rafferty (26 not out) and Sam Hilton pushed the score along to 244-5 skipper Yates to declare at the end of the 38th over. Adam Dyson (3-71) bowled tidily and unchanged for the home side.

The Sands reply began steadily in the face of disciplined bowling from opening Shireshead pair James Rafferty and Danny Wilkinson (3-23).

Wilkinson made the early breakthrough as John Carter (23) bravely withstood an onslaught from Rafferty at the other end.

It was again the introduction of Peter Wilson (6-15) which hastened the end as despite a determined final-wicket stand that lasted 10 overs the hosts were bowled out for 84.

Trimpell picked up a winning draw against Shireshead’s seconds in Division Two of the Westmorland Cricket League on Saturday.

The visitors posted 202-9 batting first. Mark Baldwin (51) and Steve Beniston (31) taking the score to 89 before Alan Moulsdale (4-38) slowed the scoring down. M Patel (34) also batted well.

Shireshead got off to a solid start in reply but Graeme Johnstone (4-36) halted their progress and the required acceleration never materialised as the innnings finished on 182-9.