Table Tennis: Top man Stebbing is champion again

Toby Ellis, Matthew Westworth, Owen Pye, Alex Milligan.
Toby Ellis, Matthew Westworth, Owen Pye, Alex Milligan.
Share this article

In the Lancaster and Morecambe Table Tennis League Senior Tournament, the Premier Division Singles event attracted a top class entry with most of the leading local players involved.

The University dominated the semi-finals with Rowan Campbell and the current champion Alex Tyson in one match with Campbell winning and meeting Paul Stebbing in the final after Stebbing had held off the challenge from Xu Collins in the second semi-final. In a hard fought final Stebbing came out on top to regain the title he lost last year.

Naomi Collins, Madi Thompson, Eve Clement, Rachel Lister.

Naomi Collins, Madi Thompson, Eve Clement, Rachel Lister.

In the Premier Plate section youngsters Owen Bendall and Tommy Kennedy met in the first semi-final with Bendall going through to the final against Jerad Holmes who had defeated Simon Law in the second semi-final.

Holmes went on to win the final in a close match with Bendall.

Mike White dominated the Championship singles event, winning his qualifying group and defeating Adam Ordenez in the semi-final.

White was pushed all the way in the final match by Anthony Kun before collecting the Division title.

Aiden Branch, Luke McGrath.

Aiden Branch, Luke McGrath.

Paul Stebbing continued his fine form when he partnered Ian Felton to win the Premier Doubles from Alex Tyson and Xu Collins.

In the Championship Doubles Matthew Cooke and Ray Gaskell played well to defeat Dave Gott and Ken Richardson in the final.

In the Junior Championships under 17s champion Luke McGrath retained his title with Aiden Branch in second place and Matthew Cooke placed third.

In the under 14 contest Owen Bendall retained his title with club colleague Tommy Kennedy runner up.

Under 14 group winners were: Group One Jacob Bywater, Group Two Elliott Bywater and Group Three Daniel Handford.

Primary Boys ended with a top group including Alex Milligan and Will Silverwood with Owen Pye winning the title and Milligan in second place.

Matthew Westworth won Group One, Toby Ellis Group Two and Adam Bhagel-Low Group Three.

Naomi Collins won the Primary Girls crown with Madi Thompson second and Rebecca Hyde in third place. Rachel Lister won Group One, and Eve Clement Group Two.

Surthi Rajakaier played well to win the Under 14 Girls title with Georgia Wilson runner up.