Jackson and Lee rip into batting order as Torrisholme claim win

Torrisholme opener Andy Butler in action.
Torrisholme opener Andy Butler in action.
Share this article

Torrisholme skipper Matt Jackson returned on Saturday as his side claimed another maximum 12 points against Whittingham and Goosnargh.

On a wet and humid day the game was reduced to 32 overs a side. Winning the toss Matt Jackson had no hesitation in bowling first on a helpful looking track. Jackson (4-15) and Lee (5-35) tucked right into the Whittingham batting line up.

Jackson claimed his first wicket when Safraz Patel (0) was caught behind by Carl Acton. With reduced overs to bowl Graham Lee was straight into the attack, Dearsi (0) trapped LBW.

Sabbir Patel (3) was smartly caught by Ferguson before some brief resistance from Abbas (32) and Khorkar (18).

Jeff Stobbart (1-23) went into the attack and Harun Patel (11) was caught by Jackson at extra cover. The returning Jackson and then Lee combined to remove the last few wickets for three runs as Whittingham finished on 83 all out.

Torrisholme got off to an indifferent start, Bee (0) faced one ball and his leading edge saw Mohamad Patel (1-16) take a wicket caught at point.

Butler (15no) batted right through and his 53 ball score was a conservative, but match winning knock. Dan Woods (21) was in fluent form and was only stopped by an exceptional catch in the deep off Whittingham skipper Sheeraz Polli (1-23).

Chris Parry (35no) joined Butler and the pair posted a 50 run partnership to see Torrisholme home in style with overs to spare.