Morecambe 0-1 Shrewsbury

MORECAMBE’S inconsistent home form continued with a narrow defeat at home to promotion-chasing Shrewsbury.

After dominating the first period without reward the Shrimps were defeated by James Collins’s 13th goal of the season on 68 minutes.

Collins picked up an excellent pass from Shrews captain Ian Sharps to fire a right foot shot past Morecambe goalkeeper Barry Roche from ten yards out.

And it was no more than the visitors deserved as Collins and Nicky Wroe had both had shots saved by Roche before they broke the deadlock as Shrewsbury controlled the second period.

But the Shrews didn’t make it easy for themselves, midfielder Jon Taylor being shown a red card 10 minutes from time for an apparent headbutt on Shrimps midfielder Garry Hunter.

Jordan Burrow and Hunter both had shots saved by Chris Neal as the Shrimps pushed for an equaliser but it wasn’t to be.

Morecambe started the brighter with Izak Reid cutting in from the right inside ten minutes and seeing his 25 shot flash just past Neal’s right hand post.

The Shrimps then controlled the first period, with Lewis Alessandra their main threat, his best effort coming after 22 minutes, when a long Will Haining pass deceived Shrews left back Matt Richards and the former Oldham man cut inside, only to see his shot well saved by Neal.

Despite the Shrimps controlling the half, Shrewsbury had openings of their own. On-loan Sheffield United midfielder Dave McAllister wasted perhaps their best opening, volleying wide from 15 yards when he should have hit the target.

But Morecambe came closest to breaking the deadlock in the first period, when five minutes before the break, Kevin Ellison was played in by Alessandra and his left foot shot was tipped round the post by a strong right hand from Neal diving low at his near post.

Morecambe: Roche, Fenton, Haining, McCready, Parrish, Reid, Drummond, Hunter, Alessandra (Curran 69), Carlton (Burrow 69), Ellison (Jevons 89). Subs not used: Kettings, McGee

Shrewsbury: Neal, Grandison, Sharps, Cansdell-Sherriff, Richards, Taylor, Wroe, McAllister, Wright, Collins (Morgan 89), Gornell (Jacobson 83). Subs not used: Smith, McAllister, Sawyers

Referee: C Pawson

Attendance: 2,175