Chesterfield 1-0 Morecambe

Globe Arena. Morecambe FC.
Globe Arena. Morecambe FC.

Jay O’Shea scored the only goal of the game as Chesterfield moved a step closer to League 2 promotion at the expense of Morecambe on Tuesday night.

The Shrimps slipped to their 10th away defeat of the season at the Proact Stadium and now sit eight points clear of the relegation zone.

The game’s decisive moment came 19 minutes in after the home side broke quickly and a right wing cross found O’Shea unmarked eight yards out and his downward header beat Barry Roche to his left hand side.

Morecambe started the game on the front foot and almost shocked the Spireites in the second minute of the game.

A right-wing corner was only half cleared and the ball bounced into the path of Padraig Amond but he could only direct his close range header straight at home keeper Tommy Lee.

Chesterfield hit back with a Mason Bennett cross flashing across the Morecambe six yard box and a bad miss from Eoin Doyle after he had been put through on goal after a fine bit of play on the edge of the Morecambe box by O’Shea.

The home side dominated the second half and had it not been for some excellent saves from Roche they could have own by a greater margin.

The Morecambe keeper, playing against his former club, produced a stunning save from Doyle on 56 minutes after some more neat play from Chesterfield on the edge of the Shrimps box.

Impressive midfielder Sam Morsy then went close on two occasions to adding to Chesterfield’s lead. On 75 minutes he curled an effort inches over before hitting the crossbar four minutes later with a superb strike from 25 yards.

Morecambe’s only effort of any note came when Kevin Ellison tried his luck from long range but saw his effort fly wide of the right hand post.

Chesterfield ended the game on top and took a step closer to League 1 as the Shrimps went a fourth game without a win.

Chesterfield: Lee, Darikwa, Evatt, Cooper, Humphreys, Bennett (Roberts 63), Morsy, Kearns, O’Shea (Banks 71), Ryan, Doyle (Richards 63). Subs not used: Dunbavin, Hird, Talbot, Gnanduillet.

Morecambe: Roche, Wright, Hughes, Edwards, Threlfall, Diagne, Marshall (Redshaw 56), Kenyon, Williams, Ellison, Amond (Sampson 69). Subs not used: Arestidou, McCready, Dunleavy, Doyle, Mwasile.

Referee: M Naylor.