Ashton Athletic 2-2 Lancaster City

editorial image
Share this article

A wasteful Lancaster City came from behind to earn a replay against North West Counties outfit Ashton Athletic.

Joe Bunney opened the scoring for City 40 seconds into the first half with a calm and collected shot on the turn inside the box into the bottom corner.

Zach Clark should have doubled City’s lead minutes later when he hit the post after cutting inside from the right wing.

Rob Wilson was next to miss a golden opportunity to double City’s lead when he fired a shot straight at the keeper when one-on-one.

City were made to pay for their mistakes when Danny Gregson’s heavy touch gave Ashton forward Mark Ward the chance to shoot inside the box, with his accurate effort just creeping in at the near post past a full-stretched Holden.

The hosts were on the up and took the lead on the half hour mark when Mark Bailey headed home a free kick to stun a sub-par looking City.

Joe Bunney had a chance to draw level with the keeper back peddling one-on-one from a tight angle but the England Schoolboy striker sliced his shot well wide.

Lancaster came out for the second half looking much stronger and had the majority of possession and territory but struggled to create chances against a stubborn Ashton backline.

Elderton’s corner was sliced up onto the bar from a defender on the line, while Marshall had an effort from the edge of the box cleared off the line with City looking desperate.

The Dolly Blues finally got reward for their second half performance when a great weaving run from Rob Wilson was halted by a poor challenge on the edge of the six yard box.

Dave Swarbrick stepped up and duly dispatched the ball into the bottom right corner, sending the keeper the wrong way.

City pressed for a winner in the dying minutes, with Kilifin and Wainwright both slicing shots wide of the mark from inside the box but the game played out to a draw.

City will replay the match at Giant Axe this Tuesday, 7:45PM kick off.

Lancaster City: Holden, Parkinson, Elderton, Gregson, Marshall, Wainwright, Wilson, Swarbrick, Clark, Kilifin, Bunney.