MBIs win two seats on Morecambe Town Council

Morecambe Town Hall.
Morecambe Town Hall.
Share this article

Two Morecambe Bay Independents have been elected onto Morecambe Town Council in a by-election.

Vicky Boyd-Power and Roger Timothy Cleet were elected in Heysham North on Thursday.

They replace husband and wife David and Carla Brayshaw (Labour), who resigned from Morecambe Town Council in September.

The full by-election results were: Vicky Boyd-Power (MBIs, 134 votes), Roger Timothy Cleet (MBIs, 133 votes), Andrew James Warriner (Labour, 77 votes), Rebecca Pauline Livsey (Labour, 75 votes), Paul B Hart (Liberal Democrats, 32 votes) and Mike Brown (Liberal Democrats, 24 votes).

Labour are still the largest group on the town council with 12 seats, the MBIs now have 10, Working Positively for Morecambe has 2, the Lib Dems 1 and UKIP 1.