Apprentices are top of their game

Top motoring apprentices received awards at the 20th annual awards evening held by Lancaster Training Services.
Top motoring apprentices received awards at the 20th annual awards evening held by Lancaster Training Services.
Share this article

Top apprentices received awards at a special evening held by Lancaster Training Services Ltd.

The 20th annual awards evening was to mark the achievement of apprentices in the automotive and transport industry.

Training Manager, Martyn Horabin, presented the awards and apprenticeship certificates on the night.

He said: “Every year I am amazed at the motivation and effort displayed by our learners.

“I am delighted to present these awards as they provide an opportunity to showcase the hard work, dedication and true passion that exists within the automotive and driving sector today.

“I would also like to offer my personal congratulations to individuals, parents and employers; you should all feel extremely proud of your outstanding achievements”.

As well as receiving a trophy all the award winners received a cash reward for their achievement.

Mr Horabin also thanked staff, employers, learners, Lancaster & Morecambe College, Blackpool and The Fylde College and our link schools for their efforts throughout the year.


Best Overall first year trainee: Jonathon Fear, G&A Thursby Ltd, Carnforth.

First year runner up: Kyle Williamson, David Breaks Motor Vehicle Engineers, Kendal.

Best Overall second year trainee: Rebecca Wooff, Main Street Garage, Bolton-le-Sands.

Seconnd year runner up: Josh Smith, Rayrigg Motors, Morecambe.

Most improved youth trainee over two years: Liam Middleton, Central Lancaster High School.

Best Level 3 ‘Light’ Vehicle Trainee: Dominic Wood, Lake District Audi, Lindale.

Third year ‘light’ runner up: Scott Smith, N.B Motors, Morecambe.

Best LVBR trainee over two years: Jordan Hartley, Carcraft Body Repairs, Flookburgh.

EK Motor Factors LTD Achievement Trophy: Matthew Russell, Lancaster and Morecambe College.

Norman Dickinson Award for Endeavour: Jordan Bulger, A&A Motors, Morecambe.

Morecambe Car Club Ltd best first year school apprentice: Simon Copeland, Heysham High School.

First year school runner up: Connor Jones, Heysham High School.

Morecambe Car Club Ltd best second year school apprentice: Kieran Metcalfe, Heysham High School.

Second year YA runner up: Josh Hitchon, Morecambe High.

Year 2 School Links Shield: Lucas Benson, Central Lancaster High School

Year 2 School Links runner up: Jordan Robinson, Central Lancaster High School.

Best Overall DGV Trainee: Damon Murphy, C&M Motors, Galgate.

DGV runner up: Phillip Parker, L&W Wilson, Endmoor.