Dave Chisnall set for Premier League debut in Liverpool

The 10 players line up at the Betway Premier League Darts launch at the Hilton Hotel in Liverpool. Picture: Lawrence Lustig.
The 10 players line up at the Betway Premier League Darts launch at the Hilton Hotel in Liverpool. Picture: Lawrence Lustig.
Have your say

Morecambe’s Dave Chisnall will kick off the tenth season of Premier League Darts at Liverpool’s Echo Arena on Thursday night.

The world number five takes on 2012 UK Open champion Robert Thornton in the opening fixture of this year’s competition

The resort ace, who reached October’s World Grand Prix final, said: “I’m really excited and I can’t wait to get on stage on Thursday.

“It will be a new experience and I’m not looking too far ahead, and I’ll be doing the best I can to get a result against Robert.”

The first night of action will be headlined by reigning Premier League Darts champion, and new World Champion, Michael van Gerwen taking on six-time winner Phil Taylor in a repeat of last year’s final.

Van Gerwen took victory 10-8 against Taylor at The O2 last May, and also moved above the Stoke great to the top of the PDC Order of Merit when he succeeded his rival as World Champion on New Year’s Day.

Elsewhere, Peter Wright takes on Wes Newton, Raymond van Barneveld faces Gary Anderson and Simon Whitlock and Adrian Lewis will do battle.

Sky Sports’ live coverage on Thursday starts at 7pm.

Check out The Visitor website tonight to see how Chisnall gets on.

The Premier League Darts campaign initially sees the 10 players play each other once over the opening nine weeks, before the bottom two players are relegated after Judgement Night on week nine.

The remaining eight players will then meet once more over the next six weeks before the top four players progress to the Play-Offs at The O2 in London on Thursday, May 22.

After Liverpool, the season takes in the BIC in Bournemouth, Odyssey Arena in Belfast and the new SSE Hydro in Glasgow during February.

March sees the event visit the Westpoint Arena in Exeter, Capital FM Arena in Nottingham, make its debut at the First Direct Arena in Leeds and return to Dublin at The O2.

April opens with Judgement Night at the Motorpoint Arena in Cardiff before also visiting the Motorpoint Arena in Sheffield, the GE Gas & Oil Arena in Aberdeen and Manchester’s Phones 4u Arena.

The final three league nights in May will be held at the NIA in Birmingham, Newcastle’s Metro Radio Arena and The Brighton Centre, before the Play-Offs see the Premier League Darts champion crowned at The O2 in London.

The winner will pick up a cheque for £150,000 with the total prize fund £550,000.